Art for Art Shake

Kia Ora Whanau. This SLJ activity I chose is a SLJ activity called Art for Art Sake and this activity is about Silhouette Art. For this activity we have to sketch or use google drawing or take an image of someone in your family on side view, then we have to colour in the image black and fill in with a white background. One thing I learned from this activity was that the word “Silhouette” traced back to early mid-18th century French, finance minister Etinne de Silhouette. Etinne de Silhouette likes to make this kind of image of him so this art was formed and named after him.

 

Have you ever tried Silhouette before?

 

Here is my Silhouette art:

3 thoughts on “Art for Art Shake

  1. Mōrena Lucas,

    It’s Charlotte again, a blog commenter for Manaiakalani. What a fantastic job you have done on this task!

    I think it is awesome how you have included an interesting fact that you have learnt from this activity. It was a new fact for me as well so thank you for sharing!

    What a creative idea to get the inspiration for your silhouette from the man who they can be traced back to. Very well done – you managed to get all the little details in your silhouette like the nose and mouth.

    If you were to invent or discover something, what do you think it would be? Would you name it something creative or name it after yourself?

    To answer your question – no I have not tried to make silhouette art, if I did I would make a silhouette of my favourite animals – lions!

    Ngā Mihi Nui
    Charlotte Visser
    Summer Learning Journey

    1. Sorry Jack! I am not sure why I have written Lucas above – I have written to so many wonderful bloggers and sometimes I get mixed up! Great work on your posts Jack!

      Charlotte

  2. Kia ora Jack,
    WOW! you have taught me something new today. I did not know the word silhouette
    was named after someone. I really like how you created your own silhouette and learned where the word originated from too. If you were to create a type of art would you name it after yourself?
    Keep up the enlightening blog posts. Ka mau te wehi
    Whaea Ronnie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *