Kowhai Drawing

Kia Ora. This SLJ activity is called Kowhai drawing. For this activity we have to create our own drawing about Kowhai trees, but before that we have to watch how to draw a Kowhai tree and read some facts about Kowhai trees. Three facts I learned from this activity was that Kowhai trees are a type of small woody legumes of the genus Sophora in the Fabaceae family, also it have 8 different species of Kowhai and it all native to New Zealand. I first drew the outline of a kowhai tree but I also drew a fantail on the tree branch so it won’t look that empty and boring. After that I colouring in my drawing and added some detail for it.

 

Have you seen a kowhai tree before?

 

Here is my image:

3 thoughts on “Kowhai Drawing

  1. Hi Jack,
    Nice picture of a kowhai tree, the flowers on the tree look great. I really enjoy reading your posts to see what new learning you have done. I had alot of trouble trying to pronounce some of the scientific names in your post but liked learning that there are 8 different species of kowhai.
    Keep up the interesting posts.

  2. Kia Ora Jack,

    This is Zana from the Summer Learning Journey. Awesome to see you completing a bunch of summer learning journey activities. Not long to go so I hope to see a couple more posts from you!

    I think your drawing looks incredible and it is great to see that you have done some research into the Kowhai tree which adds a great background of understanding behind your art.

    I am fortunate enough to live in a very tropical yet forestry area with plenty of kowhai trees and I love seeing them this time of the year with all their beautiful yellow flowers.

    I love the addition of a little fantail sitting on the branch, is this because fantails like kowhai trees or is it just a fun bird to draw? Do you see fantails often?

    Keep up the great work and I look forward to seeing more of your posts.
    Ka kite anō,
    Zana Yates
    SLJ

  3. Kia ora Jack,
    I really like your Kowhai tree and fantail. Like Whaea Gina in her comment I to had trouble pronouncing the scientific names too. Did you know that Maori say that when the Kowhai tree is in full bloom it means that Kina are fat. (sea eggs are full of roe) I wonder do you know what Kowhai is in English?
    Keep up the artistic blog posts. Ka mau te wehi
    Whaea Ronnie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *